Jacob Robbins, former head-of-software for Drop.io, has created a service called Burn Note that lets users send and receive secure messages by automatically deleting the message after it’s been read. Each message is given a unique URL for distribution, and users can configure message settings to include password protection and a self-destruction timer configurable between 1 and 32,767 seconds.
Burn Note lets you easily send secure, self-destructing messages via the web
Burn Note lets users send secure messages over the web that can only be read once and self destruct afterward.
Burn Note lets users send secure messages over the web that can only be read once and self destruct afterward.


Just how safe is this method of sending and receiving messages? Well, considering your notes don’t exactly disappear completely — Burn Note actually encrypts and saves message metadata anonymously in a MySQL database for future survey research — we’re leaving that for you to decide. The company’s site includes a dedicated ‘Technical Information’ page detailing the entire process. But hey, this shouldn’t stop you from trolling your friends with secret, self-destructing messages.
Most Popular
- Xbox overhauls its PC, web, and cloud apps with a faster design
- Anker’s new window-mounted camera monitors the outside of your home from within it
- I’ve reviewed almost every Android foldable this year — here’s how the iPhone Duo compares
- After printing 40,000 whistles, this is the 3D printer I’d buy
- The Enough Phone is made by and for people fed up with big screens











