Twitter notice banner suspended locked testing – Breaking News & Latest Updates 2026
Skip to main content

Twitter is testing notices that tell you if your account is suspended or locked

The new banners appear at the top of your feed

The new banners appear at the top of your feed

Twitter’s new banners informing users their account has been suspended or locked.
Twitter’s new banners informing users their account has been suspended or locked.
Twitter’s new banners informing users their account has been suspended or locked.
Image: Twitter
Jay Peters
is a senior reporter covering technology, gaming, and more. He joined The Verge in 2019 after nearly two years at Techmeme.

Twitter is testing new notices that tell you if your account has been suspended or locked and has been put in read-only mode for violating Twitter’s rules. The notices, announced Tuesday, will show up as a banner at the top of your feed. They are in testing across a small percentage of Twitter users on iOS, Android, and the web, a Twitter spokesperson tells The Verge.

The company is testing this feature after getting feedback from users that they realized they were suspended or locked and in read-only mode only after trying to tweet or follow new accounts, the Twitter spokesperson says.

The new notices spell out your status and provide some additional guidance for those who are locked or suspended. If you’ve been permanently suspended, you can submit an appeal, according to one notice, and if your account has been locked, that notice says most accounts get full access back in a week.

Follow topics and authors from this story to see more like this in your personalized homepage feed and to receive email updates.